Welcome to Smart Home Forum by FIBARO

Dear Guest,

as you can notice parts of Smart Home Forum by FIBARO is not available for you. You have to register in order to view all content and post in our community. Don't worry! Registration is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to sign up. Become a part of of Smart Home Forum by FIBARO by creating an account.

As a member you can:

•     Start new topics and reply to others
  •     Follow topics and users to get email updates
  •     Get your own profile page and make new friends
  •     Send personal messages
  •     ... and learn a lot about our system!

Regards,

Smart Home Forum by FIBARO Team

Philips Hue control

Marcus_Lyle

Hello all,

I am new to the HC2 scene only have installed one a week ago. 

To date I have always used Samsung smartthings hub to do automation for all my clients. However on this occasion the house we have just rewired is particularly large and the ST hub has struggled with the number of devices in it. Range wasn't the issue as all devices within a metre of the hub, it was the volume of communication going on it caused it to continuously lag. 

The property lighting is controlled mainly by fibaro modules, though there are around 20 aeon labs dimmer modules and 15 Philips hue bulbs being used. We use the Philips hue because of the ability to give mood lighting effects in concentrated areas. 

All the lights are controlled (well meant to be) by aeotec quad light switches. These look good and work well with ST, and to the best part work okish in HC2. Few more options with them in ST like button colour control. Only problem was ST couldn't handle anymore than 10 switches without becoming really unresponsive. The lag time would be up to a minute for a light to come on after the switch was pressed on. 

Hence the decision to try out HC2.

Now the HC2 is far more responsive and the modules all work well, and the switches work well with the modules.