Welcome to Smart Home Forum by FIBARO

Dear Guest,

as you can notice parts of Smart Home Forum by FIBARO is not available for you. You have to register in order to view all content and post in our community. Don't worry! Registration is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to sign up. Become a part of of Smart Home Forum by FIBARO by creating an account.

As a member you can:

•     Start new topics and reply to others
  •     Follow topics and users to get email updates
  •     Get your own profile page and make new friends
  •     Send personal messages
  •     ... and learn a lot about our system!

Regards,

Smart Home Forum by FIBARO Team

Connecting DS18B20 Sensor to Door/Windows Sensor 1 - could someone explain in words rather than pictures?

the_swissionary

Question

Hello,

I recently purchased a Door/Windows Sensor 1; now I'd like to attach a DS18B20 Temperature Sensor to it.

However, I am basically two things. First, I am a total novice when it comes to DS18B20 sensors and such; secondly, I am completely blind; and whereever I am searching for instructions, I keep coming accross graphical diagrams showing everyone who can see how it is done.

I am getting desperate tryint go find anyone who could explain - IN WORDS - how the DS18B20 is supposed to be hooked up to the Door/Window Sensor.

Could someone in this forum help me out?

Here are the things I am struggling.

First: I did locate the four small holes into which, I suppose, the DS18B20 wires will be inserted. Could someone tell me which wire has to go into which hole? Let's say: If I place the Door/Window Sensor in front of me with its flat side down and the four little holes facing me, and then going from left to right: Which "hole" serves which purpose?

Next: How do I actually insert the wires? Do they just go through the holes and then straight on? Or do I need to bend them towards a certain location?